In a cabin by the sea

Before school started, I completed my first solo adventure around Thailand.

The first leg of the trip was Consolidation (a Peace Corps practice drill in case an emergency breaks out in country). I learned how to get a Krabi by public transportation and rewarded myself with a large pineapple mai tai while being treated to a one night stay at a large resort.

Then, another volunteer and I headed back to Surat Thani, found a cheap hostel and went to watch Guardians of the Galaxy 2 at the cinema. By 5 am the next morning I was at the airport on my way to Bangkok for some eating, shopping, and the next day took a 5 hour bus ride and a 1 hour ferry to Koh Mak (an island in the Gulf of Thailand, off the coast of Trat, near the border of Cambodia).

Here I stayed in a beautiful mansion with 12 girls and met up with the other Peace Corps volunteers for the annual MayCation (a celebration including a Cinco De Mayo fiesta and feast and a chance for the 129 group to meet with the 128s).

IMG_8440IMG_8439

I lounged hard, swam in the warm shallow water, and cooked an epic Italian meal of three different types of pasta while drinking a wine bottle I paid way too much baht for – my favorite way to relax.

IMG_8398IMG_8415

Then I stayed 1 night by myself in a cabin by the sea before heading back to Bangkok and my flight back to site.

I indulged in my favorite eats at the family restaurant right next to the Island Huts and I fell asleep and woke up to the sight and sounds of the ocean outside my window.

I took a walk in the sprinkling rain, smells of wet dirt and rotted fruit, and later returned back to my cabin under a firefly lit path. I sipped on a lime, coconut and rum mixture on my porch, to a playlist of beach tunes. I was on my own private beach.

IMG_8401

The isolated experience by the sea after a fun reconnect with volunteers was a recharging and healing experience. Now if only I could live in that cabin for the remainder of my service…

 

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing

there is a beach. I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that sand,

the world is too full to talk about.

Ideas, language, even the phrase “each other”

doesn’t make any sense.

 

The breeze at dawn has secrets to tell you.

        Don’t go back to sleep.

You must ask for what you really want.

        Don’t go back to sleep.

People are going back and forth across the shoreline

where the two worlds touch.

The door is round and open.

        Don’t go back to sleep.

 

The excerpt above is from a poem “A Great Wagon” by Rumi, with only the bold words changed (field to beach, grass to sand, and doorsill to shoreline) to fit the setting of my story.

3 thoughts on “In a cabin by the sea

  1. Thanks Lauren, I did not know about your blog. When Uncle George and your cousins would tell me about your adventures I looked on face book and found nothing. I’ll love following you now! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

